2nd Home

Around Halloween time, my boy took me to Hobbycraft.

It was the first time I’d ever been and nearly 7 months in, he still practically takes me every weekend.

I was like a child in a candy store. A little girl being given a new doll and a little lad being given a puppy. It was amazing. There were so many things I wanted to buy. Although with it, came a sense of self doubt.

In our family we had creative cooks, creative painters, creative brains. I simply just fitted in, so where did I fit in this shop.

For starters it paid homage to my obsession of owls. There was a sign hanging in the window advertising a simple sewing kit that made cute little owls. Every weekend I went in and it wasn’t there. If I wasn’t there I would be looking online but no joy.

Until Christmas products started appearing in stores. No sooner had Halloween finished that reindeers and Santa masks were adorning the shelves. As these owls were decorations for Christmas trees, I bought several packs.

This Christmas was going to be different. I was going to make most of my decorations. So I sat on the floor and got to work and it really was that simple.

I don’t have any pictures to show you step by step but I recommend trying them out. Hobbycraft also sell other sew-it kits. You guessed right, I bought the owl one. This one was even more easy to make as it had the holes on each bit of fabric making it easy to create. In fact I will be honest, I am pretty sure it was a children’s sewing kit and I overlooked that fact because it was an owl.

I have attached the two pictures of the owls I created. The first one with the initial A and the second one that was a little more squished.

20130121-174621.jpg

20130121-174627.jpg

Leave a Reply

